It Lives… Again

So – it’s been a while.

Manic Street Preachers: A Critical Discography has been dormant for well over a year. Before the hiatus, I’d written entries for 155 songs, along with essays on each of the albums up to Know Your Enemy. I’d had some incredibly helpful and insightful comments, and some encouragement and support from people over at the Forever Delayed forum.

Towards the end of 2014, I began thinking about resuming the blog. More recently, I realised that last year the site received over 40,000 views even though no new essays were posted (for comparison, there were about 25,000 views in 2013). I’ve now decided that I will be resurrecting the blog and I hope you’ll want to resume reading. Things will be a bit different this time around.

The plan is for me to post new song essays as and when they are done; I have other projects in the pipline (I released a short ebook in November, and have a much longer book yet to be announced) and the old, daily schedule was just too punishing. Burnout was a key reason for the hiatus, so I’m keen to avoid it happening again.

When the blog is “complete” – by which I probably mean that it covers everything up to the end of the Futurology period – I’ll be editing the whole site into a new ebook and selling it via Gumroad. If there’s interest, I’ll even self-publish a print version. I’ll leave the online version as-is, but these book versions should provide a different and hopefully more pleasant reading experience.

Thanks so much for reading, commenting on and subscribing to the site. I’m sorry you’ve had to wait so long for a continuation, but I hope you’ll come along for the ride. I can’t say with certainty when the next post will be ready – but it will be soon.

Stay beautiful,

Andy

andyjohnson.xyz

3 responses to “It Lives… Again

Leave a Reply

